A near perfect family drama

In fact, its perfect family drama if you negate the fact that it happens in Coonoor but you can’t see a single south Indian or a single person who talks Tamil properly. If you gonna make a film sans authenticity why chose a place where none speak Hindi. It could have been easily anywhere else. Except for this little mistake, it was a perfect film. May be non-Tamil people wouldn’t have found it to be such a big mistake, after all Alia Bhatt was a Tamil brahmin in ‘2 States’. Definitely this is not worse than that. But ‘2 states’ is not a movie to be taken seriously, ‘Kapoor & sons’ is.

I was happy that I chose a film which I always wanted to watch, for my landmark 500th movie review. The movie was really special. It was interesting from the word go. I carefully prepared myself by watching ‘Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu’ which by itself wasn’t a bad film at all. So, with ‘Kapoor & sons’ with that much critical acclaim, I was sure it’d definitely be good. Like how directors have taken action films for granted in Tamil cinema. Hindi cinema directors have taken family drama for granted. So, to see mainstream actors in a family drama with a title as rigid as ‘Kapoor & sons’, I never thought the movie would be good, at the time of release. Plus, it had a party song like every other Hindi film at that time, which was again a huge hit so it had all the criteria to be safely negated.

Continue reading in the link below…

Readers Write In #232: A near perfect family drama

Comments
  1. […] boxes in the template and that too without any apology. Kudos for that. Every film need not be a ‘Kapoor and Sons’ where it must be an impactful film in the Bollywood blueprint, but movies can be as simple and […]

    Like

  2. […] name suggests plays with the depths of human emotions like no film has ever done in recent past. ‘Kapoor and Sons’ was my 500th movie review and probably one of the best, if not the best movie which I watched in […]

    Like

Leave a comment