Movie Review – Kes

Posted: August 16, 2016 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , ,

Kes is my type of film. Of all, the adolescent period is the one which I found to be the most intriguing. The reason why I love 400 Blows, Catcher in the Rye and my favoritism towards R K Narayan is because of this. Because adolescence is one curious period which couldn’t be defined.

Kes

Kes treads on the lines of 400 Blows but 400 Blows is more of my type of film than Kes. I’ve always been interested in people who are no ones. The famous don’t interest me. It’s the prototype to make a film. Similarly the least famous too don’t interest me. It’s the prototype to get sympathy.

Kes I can’t say that didn’t work for me at all. May be it didn’t work for me like Barry Lyndon. May it was never supposed to work. Maybe that’s how the film was made.

Biggest mistake was to have watched the movie without subtitles. Is that how English speak English colloquially. I could understand nothing till a point of time. May be the film grew on me or the English got more understandable, things were getting better. I generally do not take break while watching a movie. But with this movie it so happened that I took the break right at the peak moment. Only after watching the movie did I read about the Yorkshire accent and all.

The scene where Casper tells about the story of Kes was one brilliantly enacted scene. Casper is not a guy whom you’d root to. You know this is what is going to happen to him. It’s destined that life is going to be cruel to him but he carries forward with it.

For us Kes dying is a heartbreak but for him it’s just one of the tragic events which would keep on happening to him even in future.  Sometimes films like these makes you question what really life is. It neither inspires us, nor depresses us. Keeps us in the kind of loop which always makes us dizzy.

 

Leave a Reply

