Movie Review – Guide

Posted: May 3, 2016 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , ,

After watching this movie on a not so good Friday night, I woke up late the next day and immediately showed the song, “Tere mere Sapne…” to my parents, to my dad to be precise. My mom too sits and pretends to like it if I show something. It was same this time too. She was mentioning how she used to like Hindi songs during her bachelorette days but could never understand the lyrics. She goes out of the system very soon. My father told that he had listened to this song as well as watched the movie. Somehow between all this, all I could see was a ‘lie’. He immediately recommended me to watch Silsila. But it was not an honest recommendation, he gives some suggestions of movies that he had just watched.

Guide

When I was explaining that how love of a man and woman who is already married was beautifully portrayed, he got uncomfortable and I got an upper hand. The topic then shifted to my friend’s marriage who is going to marry a girl who is of different caste and four years elder to him. He got even more uncomfortable. He was desperately trying to change the topic. At least once I want him to accept that what he is doing is wrong. I don’t want him to be right, which he can never be, I at least want him to accept that he is wrong.

Coming to the song, “Tere mere Sapne…” it straightaway comes to the top of the list, beating Pehla Nasha. Especially the line, “Laakh Mana le Yeh Duniya, Saath Na Yeh Chhootega, Aake Mere Haathon Mein, Haath Na Yeh Chootega” which gets repeated thrice in the movie and various different junctures and the way the stanza ends with, “O’Mere Jeevan Saathi” It was so pure. That one song was enough to transcend all my inhibitions towards the movie.

I never thought that Dev Anand would be such a great actor, I never thought he could emote so brilliantly. I never knew that Waheeda Rahman is such a brilliant dancer. All I knew about her was she was the second most beautiful woman in black and white era, only behind Sharmila Tagore. But in this movie there were few scenes where she made me love her more than Sharmila Tagore.

R K Narayanan’s books are generally not given the due it deserves. It is much deeper than what you generally get in a fast read one fifty page novels. When I was first reading Guide, I think that was my first novel of R K Narayan. My dad again made a mistake of saying about him as, “It’d be like a kids story” R K Narayan doesn’t write for kids. It’s for adults. I couldn’t make him understand. I didn’t want to make him understand.

Guide didn’t start as well as I thought. I thought the protagonist should have been lot younger, less vibrant and more melancholic but Dev Anand was older, vibrant and energetic. The quarrels between Rosy (Waheeda Rahman) and Franco wasn’t even looking like quarrel. It looked like a love play to me. Only when she appears like that in the cave, I really got that feeling that they were fighting. That was a great transformation, as soon as she wears that anklet.

The beauty about the film was its second half. Even though you would have already fallen in love with the movie by that time, “Tere mere sapne” song comes and tells you, you could love the movie even more. It’s the second half when Dev Anand becomes more proud, it goes to the next level. I guess women would have loved the movie. If not for these many songs in second half, it would have been an even better movie.

Another inconsistency I had with the movie was the age factor, he almost looked similar in most part but grew beard in twelve days. I can understand that it’s the easy way of showing the ageing process but it could have been dealt in a better way. When he’s called saint and the way he jokes around in the saffron costume was different. I don’t know whether I could call it weird. I couldn’t accept him as a saint but maybe I’m not as innocent or desperate as the villagers to accept him as saint.

The way all the people get to him in the climax was brilliant and when finally when “Tere mere sapne” song appears again, that too with a few seconds of jazzy music before that stanza, the romance in their eyes, in those desperate situation was epic. The hallucination scene too worked well, maybe they could have done with less colors like that of Matrix or Delhi 6 scene but for a 1975 movie it was well made.

When Raju (Dev Anand) goes to jail, Nalini comes and talks to him, “Such to yae hae Raju, na mae tumhe samji, na tum mujhe samji” (neither you understood me nor I understood you). I had watched ‘Guide’, my dad was watching ‘Investor’s Guide’

Comments
  1. I have read the book. Should watch this now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

