Movie Review – Ship of Theseus

Posted: September 14, 2015 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , ,

“If a ship is replaced part by part up to a point where not a single original part remains in it, is it still the same ship?”

ship-of-theseus

So there is a legend called Ship of Thesus, all the while I was imagining Ship of Thesus to be an animated film where a boy with black hair would be looking at a brown ship sinking far away from him. I don’t know how that image entered into my mind.

It’s amazing how much you learn out of movies, how much you learn out of art in itself. It was teachers’ day, the day I wrote this review. I always end up to be the cynical guy when it comes to Teachers day. I’m not sure how much really they helped me in what I’m now and what I wanted to be. But movies, like Tarantino says helped me learn whatever I wanted to and even things I didn’t want to. He said, “I didn’t go to film school, I went to films.” Similarly I didn’t watch news I watched movies.

Ship of Thesus in spite of getting rave reviews didn’t really evoke my curiosity, may be due to my misconception that it was an animated feature. Don’t know from where that thought came into my mind. But whatever, when the first quote came I saw a beautiful Aliya Kamal (Aida Elkashef) I felt relieved, no wait, elated would be the right word.

Even though the opening quote caught my attention, wouldn’t it have been great if the curiosity was kept intact without revealing what the movie was about through the opening quote and climax sequence. Because, because of the opening quote, I was able to guess what the film was about in ten minutes. And climax gave a wholesome feeling. But without those two it’d have been even more brilliant. Taking nothing away from the climax though, the way everyone looks at each other when they come and sit and the way their eyes swell up when they see the video, it was amazing.

See the way the three parts were directed, the first one gets the new eye after sometime, may be around the middle of the sequence. In the second part we don’t even know what happens after he gets the new liver and in the third part, the sequence starts with the protagonist getting Kidney. The way even the juncture of transplant was handled was brilliant. It didn’t look as if it was infused into the storyline to look different.

My favorite part would definitely be the first one. Though it severely reminded me of someone in office, the Aliya part was beautiful. Not only was she beautiful but she was a treasure trove. Such brilliant acting. The way her part was written and her character was sketched it was beautiful beyond words. The Aliya story is the direct answer to Margarita with a Straw. This is how you make films out of people’s shortcomings. I didn’t use the word ‘deformity’ here purposefully.

The part of Maitreya (Neeraj Kabi) was taken right out of Linklater’s books. What profound convolution of thoughts that. The conversations between Charvaka (Vinay Shukla) and Maitreya was a treat to watch. It was ‘Waking Life’ made simple for us. I’m not really sure whether I would have wanted Maitreya to die but finally he yielding to the eventual was painful. But it was a great move to have ended the story there instead of prolonging. I would have hated to see him going to the hospital for surgery.

The third part by far looked to be the weakest, may be because it looked like one part which was finding purpose. But if I had to fit myself in any one of the part it would be the last one. Though I so want to be a silent admirer in the first one or Charvaka in the second part. I would end up only being Navin (Sohum Shah). At the most I could do is donate organs. Best thing about this part is his friend Mannu, of all the people his is the one which like in the film, out looked by all but lived by all. He was such a bundle of charm. Be it driving in the streets, getting stuck near Shankar’s house or asking directions to Shankar’s house. He eludes the much need charm in an otherwise monotonous life. The brilliance of writing is evident by Mannu’s character. What was a profound film doesn’t miss the human element, thanks to Mannu.

Leave a Reply

