Book Review – A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court

Posted: September 14, 2013 in Book Reviews, Book Reviews, Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A good old fairy tale. All I could think of while reading the book was about me narrating the story to my kid. This would definitely be one of the stories that I’d be telling my kid. Can be tweaked in whichever way I want. Analyzing it from literary point of view the good thing about the book was the lead character never forgets that he’s out of his century. The last war part came in as a surprise for me, an unpleasant one. I couldn’t get it whether it was serious or a satire. On a whole a decent read.

 

A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court

The above paragraph was supposed to be my review for the book but that’s hardly a review. May be you can call it an extended status message. Reviewing a book on literary terms is not really my thing because I’m not a good judge when it comes to language and with regards to this book the 6th century language was totally ungettable. Even the English by The Boss was farfetched for me. Not the regular Victorian types. Now thinking of Lord of the Rings I get the accusation by my friend. He said he didn’t like the Lord of the Rings for its English as it was too simple and too contemporary for a story happening a few thousand years before. Though I didn’t have that opinion while reading I certainly think it was true. Nevertheless Lord of the Rings is still an amazing book.

Coming to Connecticut the simplicity of the story is its biggest asset. And the characters play a major part in the success of the story. Each one is unique in their own way. But everyone there are definitely sixth centurions. When you see from the Boss’s point of view you could see how differently stupid they were. But actually they were stupid or not is debatable because there isn’t even a try to explain the situation of the story from a neutral angle. We see the world through The Boss’s eye and we see it in exactly the same way he wants us to see them.

And as I said I’m not completely sure about the last war part. Whether he yields himself to the sixth century and becomes part of it or is it a pun to see thousands and thousands of bodies flying in the air or is it a plain old way to end the story with a conclusion. My conscience pricks to choose the second option but I remember the situation getting unsettled towards the climax. That’s one reason why I couldn’t claim this a great book. The simplicity was lost by the gore. Not that I hate gore, in fact I’m a fan of it. But this just didn’t suit well.

Mark Twain’s humor throughout the book was unbeatable. A good old way to laugh out loud and certain anecdotes were fascinating too. I especially liked it when he said something about young teenagers, when few teens join in and throw stones at the vehicle he’s travelling in he says, “These young teens are the same in whichever century you go. If an old man goes by they’ll just yell out ‘there you go baldie’ without any reason.” Those were not the exact words but something more or so related to it. Even though I have this fascination for anything related to young teens this is a statement beyond the best.

Comments
  1. Normally I do not read article on blogs, however I
    would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very great post.

Leave a Reply

