Movie Review – Into the Wild

Posted: June 2, 2013 in Cricket
Tags: ,

There is a pleasure in the pathless woods,
There is a rapture on the lonely shore,
There is society, where none intrudes,
By the deep sea, and music in its roar:
I love not man the less, but Nature more.

Image

The film opens with this quote by Lord Byron which directly pushes us into wilderness. Films teaching me lessons have become an old story nowadays. Because the list has expanded a lot during concurrent years but films preaching me what to make out of life, resolving its purpose, talking to my soul and stirring my emotions are very less compared to the knowledge it transits. Into the wild was one such movie where I saw me in screen. Not the ‘me’ that I’m now, instead the ‘me’ that I imagine in my dreams.

The title of the movie itself explains what we’re going to experience. Christopher Mccandless (Emile Hirsch) is a guy whom you can easily identify with. Any guy doing a desk job would immediately like this guy for he does what we can’t. After graduating with high grades from Emory University he sets off for trail to a distant somewhere. He relishes every experience he gets and he is an extremely optimistic guy who stays positive till the very end. Even when asked by retired army man Ron Franz (Hal Holbrook) whether he’d accept for his proposal of adopting Christopher he replies saying that they could decide once he’s back from Alaska. He doesn’t mince with words. He doesn’t tell those words to escape from situation. He seriously thinks that it could be decided once he’s back from Alaska.

All the while in the wild he makes notes of his everyday experience, encounters some very interesting people and goes on with life. His idea of living life is different. According to him career is a 20th century invention. He starts to live life after his graduation. He lives it step by step right from childhood to manhood to getting of wisdom. Isn’t it the way we all are supposed to live life. I don’t know if everyone would accept with me but I for one surely believe that there should be a definite gap academics and job so that one can know about oneself.

I was thinking all the while whether I could go like him and explore the world. I thought it’s possible but I had similar thought about changing our country’s face towards corruption. Some years back when I watched Mudalvan, Indian and all those Shankar movies I used to get very emotional and definitely thought that India could exist as a corruption free country but now when I think about it, it seems funny. With better conscience I don’t think its possible. Will this movie too become funny after say 10 or 15 years, when I get old? I don’t have an answer. All I could say is I enjoyed this movie.

I felt so bad when Mccandless dies in the climax. He’s such a positive guy. I didn’t want him to die at any cost. His death during the climax induced fear in me. Till the day he was positive he could live his life in his own chosen way. Even if life is not a bed of roses he saw it that way. But when he writes in his diary that he’s lonely and afraid things take a turn and suddenly we think whether he has made a mistake.

Good that it’s a real story otherwise people would have questioned this movie a lot. Will any guy be like this? Can anyone live like this? Etc. In a way his death during the climax too proved fruitful. Even though I’m not a big fan of hero dying at last this movie needed it. Otherwise it’d have become just another movie.

May be some will still call the movie unrealistic. What can I say? You need to grow up.

Leave a Reply

