Book Review – The Oath of Vayuputras

Posted: May 26, 2013 in Book Reviews, Book Reviews, Reviews
Tags: , ,

The book starts right from where the secret of Nagas ended. It’s a cumbersome task to remember things when it comes to books. If its movies a couple of hours is enough to watch them again and go fresh for the movie but books are so tedious to be read again. So it took me about 100 pages to get to know the characters again and what was really happening. But as it was pulp fiction I could easily skim through pages. Nevertheless I didn’t regret reading this pulp fiction but on the contrary it didn’t give that much adrenaline rush too one would normally expect out of pulp fiction.

Image

Amish Tripathi’s main motive seemed to be on emphasizing the fact that all are equal.  He uses his literary caliber to do so. Though a few parts look good and give ourselves a feeling of contempt for thinking of something as bad for trivial reasons some parts were presumably superfluous. Those were the points that troubled me. I thought he had a wavering mind to go back to philosophy and come forth to fiction alternatively. One reviewer had called him Paulo Coelho of East. I’d prefer Amish Tripathi any day than Paulo Coelho as I don’t want someone to instruct me on what I should do with my life. I’ve had enough.

There were some wagering inconsistencies when it came to characterization of Nagas. Kali for one had got angry many a time but her other two hands were noted once in a while and not every time. And there were not enough explanations on why Shiva should be Neelkanth. I was as confused as Shiva himself was. But I won’t complain about the latter part much. It makes the story more human. I’d rather complain on the climax which looked hurried. It too couldn’t be said as a completely negative point because we might love the book so well that we don’t want the book to end and on the other hand hasty ending might have been the genuine case. It was in between here. I of course liked the book but I didn’t like it so much so that I lost my conscience and never wanted it to end.

The best part about this book, as well as about the complete series is the he has jumbled fact and fiction. As a writer I love doing it and like it when people ask me, “has it really happened to you?” Therefore I thoroughly enjoyed the emergence of Ganesh in second part and Shiva’s third eye in this part. He has effortlessly done this and looks so apt. Though it doesn’t make us believe that Gods were mortals before it certainly makes us feel for him, for his writing. But the last few paragraphs calling men as mere mortals thus making him humble and make us look stupid spoils the entire fun.

But I must say that Amish more or less succeeded in keeping everyone equal at the end of the story and showed us the godly nature in human and humanely nature in god at that time. There was an excellent statement written in a review for the movie Midnight in Paris. It said that the movie had geniuses at the time they didn’t know that they were geniuses. Likewise here people (a.k.a gods) didn’t know that they were gods or going to be gods. So the wrath of Kali, the cleverness of Karthik, the melancholy of Shiva, the cunningness of Daksha, the worship of Parvateshwar, everything was justified. After all they too were mortals.

More than to say everyone were found to be equal towards the climax I could precisely say that everyone’s good part were at last exposed. Sati’s sacrifice leads to it. But I’m not sure in which part of mythology Sati dies. Sati’s death really came in as a huge surprise, if not really a shock to me. I didn’t expect Amish to be so bold and let a god die.

There were hints of him writing his version of Mahabaratha. The last paragraph looked like one added at the end to give a hint to publishers. Its okay he’s relatively new and he’d understand in time that he shouldn’t do this as a part of story.  Amish has now established himself as a very good pulp mythological author. A genre created by himself and has it has his forte. It’d be fun to see what’s next and it’d be even more fun if he comes out of mythology and writes something else because as of now I couldn’t imagine anything other than gods when I think of him. In the present it’s time to give it to demons. What say!

Leave a Reply

