Book Review – The Great Gatsby

Posted: May 26, 2013 in Book Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

“Whenever you feel like criticizing anyone just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.” This is the first dialogue in the book. Though this dialogue doesn’t have much significance as the book proceeds, this for sure gave me shivers while reading. I was thinking, “What am I doing? Why am I busy judging people always? Who gave me the right to write reviews? Who said I’m intellectual? How can I reject any piece of art?” and numerous other questions. This one line could be taken and discussed upon a number a times but at the end of the day what’s the point?

Image

This, for the sake of better word is a different book. I couldn’t find a more appropriate term to describe my feel. Till the mid-way the difference you find could be related to any form of fiction you come across. Once Gatsby gets to know that her lover has loved his husband more than him the story goes to a phase where it’s tough to disseminate. Many layers gets unfold there and it causes confusion.

The book seems to be telling the 20s culture of America but I couldn’t’ find anything specific being said. May be it was underneath the main story but with the little story itself the artistic vision was clearly evident. We either read about title character or straight away get to know from someone about the title character. But here we see someone who is totally unrelated to title going on with his life. The character is developed so well that we become curious of him more than the title character.

Gatsby appears only after about 30 pages in a 190 pages book and straight away divulges into the character. This is something different yet the greatness of Gatsby is evident out rightly as we see from a third man’s point of view. Achieving this is a huge success by the author.

The book is going to be made into a movie roughly after 90 years it was published. It’s a definitely interesting subject where the director would have a lot of scope to make into an art movie. This book proved me that master pieces could come in small packages, as it’s hardly about 200 pages. I don’t call it a master piece though because I don’t know. I couldn’t define it that way, that easily.

Leave a Reply

