After Sunset – Chapter 3/3

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , , ,

Me:So what? Do you believe in love?    

She:Another boring topic.

Me:No I’ll make it interesting. It won’t go in the way you’re thinking. Tell me.

She:Yadepends.

Me:Depends on what?

She:Depends on the guy.

Me:Ok ok.

She:What about you?

Me:What about me?

She:Do you believe in all these? Being a writer you would be believing I guess.

Me:Wow that’s a compliment. Calling me a writer. Thanks.

She:Not a professional though.

Me:You could have avoided this statement though.

She:Ha ha.

Me:Huh! No to be honest I don’t believe in love. In fact lust is true love is not.

She:What? How come lust is true?

Me:See when you love you have so many strings attached to it. You want your partner to be there when you feel sad, you want to share things, you want to make love. And I hate the word ‘making love’.

She:And in lust?

Me:Lust is pure. If you say you want her body you want her body. There is no cheating like making love. It’s having sex. Candid enough.

She:You and your theories.

Me:I know this is too much for you on a single night.

She:So what you’re planning to write next? Some lusty stuff?

Me: No actually I’m planning to write something with only dialogues no details at all.

She: But it won’t be nice na. You need details.

Me:Yaits said that the more the details the better the writer you’re. But again it’s the same logic. It’ll be like starting with a dot and drawing concentric circles around it. We can weave and weave till we want to. It’ll be fun you know when you just hear the conversation without imagining what type of persons they are. Then with the set of clues they can come to their conclusion. Remember I didn’t say ‘the conclusion’ it’s ‘their conclusion’. But seriously, who cares. It’s me who is writing. As long as it makes me happy I don’t care.

She: Ok but it’s not possible isn’t it. You need to describe and all. How’ll you do that?

Me: That’s a challenge. I can do that in dialogues itself.

She: You can’t do everything in dialogues.

Me: You’re discouraging me before even my start.

She: No man I’m telling you. Just telling you.Bhak!

Me: Ok.

She: Ok tell me, suppose you’re writing this scene in your story you’ve to describe right that I have an iPad and people are nonchalantly talking, this stop has come, we’ve crossed these number of hoardings etc. etc.

Me: Yes that’s a challenge but is that all necessary. For a change why not we just read what people talk and don’t think too much. Like in a state of limbo, in a void state with nothing but white spaces around. The metastable state, zero gravity, weightlessness…

She: Now again you’re talking weird. Talk English please.

Me: Comes with the flow. Can’t help it.

She:Yaya I’m getting used to it by now.

Me: Hmm if at all you’re so obsessed with details I can take it out from the characters mouth itself. Can’t I?

She: Can you?

Me: Suppose we’re the characters. Instead of using prose like she was wearing yellow salwar with matching bhindi I can directly tell you right. I hate this passive voice. See in active voice it sounds even better.

She: As in?

Me: You have a nice round face, the yellow salwar matches your complexion just about perfectly, your alignment of teeth is perfect, your sleeve in salwar is so high I like the curve it produces around your hand…

She: stop it…

Me: and your b…

She: Stop it. To what extent you’re going. Describing the shape of my arms and all. I don’t know what all is going through your mind. I’m afraid of talking to you now.

Me: This is what happens when one is absolutely frank. You get to sound rude if you’re absolutely frank.

She: You are rude.

Me: No not by any means. Every person has lots of thoughts going through his or her mind but you just get to choose one thought which pushes others and comes out like one of the million sperms that made you and me.

She: Man from where to where you’re joining a link. Enough stop it. All these philosophical talk of yours.

Me: I know everything I talk now may sound like crap but at some point in my life I’ll become famous and talk like this. Then you all will call me genius.

She: Ok I’ll call you genius now itself. Enough!

Me: Ok madam.

She: You still sure that you don’t want to know my name.

Me: I said na I like to maintain anonymity.

She: Ok tell me your name at least it just feels weird to talk to someone without knowing their name. Like talking to some person without their head.

Me: Nope.

She: Huh.

Me: Are you sure that you know the names of every person you meet?

She: Not every person I meet but I at least know the names of people who’re important. The ones I talk to.

Me: Thanks for considering me important.

She: I didn’t say that.

Me: But that’s what you implied.

She: No implication, just words. Don’t dig into any hidden meaning.

Me: Ok I take it back.

She: Better.

Me: Ok coming back to the point. There is this guy who sells groundnuts here. You buy groundnuts from him daily right? That too by giving exact change. He smiles at you whenever he sees you at some station. Do you know his name? At least have you ever considered asking his name?

She: What the hell? How do you know all these?

Me: I know. You answer my question.

She: I don’t know I mean why should I?

Me: That’s exactly what I’m trying to say why should you?

She: See you’re confusing me.

Me: There is nothing confusing here. It’s not java. Everything is clear cut. We perceive a lot of things in a lot of way that’s it.

She: Seriously man you’re a whacko.

Me: I take that as a compliment.

She: Huh!

Me: Sitting next to a pretty girl makes you think all these weird thoughts.

She: Oh please.

Me: What is it with you? Every now and then you say ‘oh please, oh please.’ You don’t like compliments at all huh? Don’t say no. No can be like that.

She: Actually yes, No.

Me: Is it a Yes or no.

She: No I don’t like all these weird compliments.

Me: Girls not liking compliments. This is the first time I’m hearing such thing.

She: Well not all girls have to be same.

Me: But you do like compliments isn’t it.

She:Yaar please.

Me: Ok fine fine.

She: Ok my stop is about to come I should get down now.

Me: Yea ok.

She: Where will you get down?

Me: Two stops from here

She: Ok then cya.

Me: Tell me bye.

She: I told na.

Me: You didn’t tell me loud enough.

She: I don’t like to turn back once I get up. Ok BYE. Enough?

Me:Ya bye.

She: Hey now tell me at least you have to type ‘the end’ at last even if you don’t use anything other than dialogues in your story na. What’ll you do now?

Me: What big deal. We can say it right?

She: like?

Me: The End

Leave a Reply

